Days after WhatsApp formalized the launch of WhatsApp’s Vanishing Messages, the new feature that allows you to make your messages disappear is now available on all platforms. Follow these steps to use it too!
Temporary messaging on WhatsApp is now rolling out in India, as is the new WhatsApp mobile payment service. Users can now update their WhatsApp app and use the feature on all platforms including Android, iOS, desktop, KaiOS and web.
Transient messaging is an optional feature that, when activated, will delete the sent message after 7 days. It can be activated for individual or group conversations. And if you want to save a message before it disappears, you can either take a screenshot of it or copy and paste it.
Here’s how to activate the feature on Android, iOS, and WhatsApp Web.
- Update your WhatsApp app on Google Play Store or Apple App Store.
- Open WhatsApp chat window
- Tap on the name of the contact with whom you want to activate the option
- Then activate the option. Once your contact is activated an icon will appear next to their profile picture.
- In an individual chat, your contact and/or you can activate or deactivate this feature at any time. However, only administrators can do this in groups.
When you activate the disappearing message feature, it will also notify the contact that the feature has been activated for their chat. The message will appear on both the chat windows.
However, if you forward a distress message, it will not be deleted after 7 days.
If the disappearing message is an image or video, it will be automatically saved to your gallery, but only if you have enabled the automatic download feature.