How to share your location in real time?

Snapchat now lets users share their real-time location with friends for a set amount of time.

A new way to keep tabs on your friends on Snapchat

Snapchat users will have a new way to keep tabs on their friends. Actually, the company has announced that it is launching real-time location sharing.

The company said the safety feature is being introduced as more people return to college campuses, travel, go out on dates and otherwise go back to what they were doing before the pandemic.

The feature, which is similar to Apple’s Find My app, allows users to share their real-time locations with a friend for up to 15 minutes, an hour or even eight hours.

Snapchat explains that to reduce harassment or the pressure of frequent location sharing, users can stop sharing without notifying the other party.

To create the feature, Snapchat partnered with It’s On Us, a nonprofit founded in 2014 to tackle sexual harassment on campus.

Snap Map: A Similar Feature

Location sharing is not entirely new to the app. you already have the option See someone’s last location on SnapchatBut this feature only shows your approximate location and updates your location information only when you open the app.

Since 2017, Snapchat has actually allowed users to share their locations with friends on its Snap Map feature, which updates a location only when the user has opened the app.

Like Snap Map, the new feature will remain disabled by default. Snapchat can turn on your location “in an instant,” the company said, but only with specific friends. To reduce the risk of harassment, the company has limited the time and who Snapchatters can share their instant location with.

Similar to WhatsApp’s live location sharing feature, you can share your live location on Snapchat for a set period of time. This feature is disabled by default and there is no option to share your live location with all your friends on Snapchat.

To enable the feature, you need to go to your friend’s profile and choose how long you want to share your live location with them. You can monitor the status of Live Location Sharing in the Chat With This Friend window.

Here’s how (on iOS)

Phase 1 : Open a chat with the friend you want to share your live location with on Snapchat and tap the friend’s name at the top of the screen.

Second Step: Tap “Share my live location”.

step 3: You will get more information about this feature with step by step. “feels good!” Tap on Which continues at the window.

step 4: Tap “15 minutes”, “1 hour” or “8 hours” depending on how long you want to share your live location with your friend. Note: If you choose, Snapchat will allow you to stop sharing your Live Location before the end of your chosen time.

This update is the first live location feature for Snapchat. In addition to the friends between systems functionality, the social network will include in-app messaging about outreach to Snapchatters.

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox